You may need to perform Fitbit Surge Reset or restart if there are problems with your tracker including it won’t sync, won’t react to button taps, presses, or swipes, won’t turn on when charged and won’t track your activities. Your tracker won’t erase any activity data if you turn on and off your tracker when resetting. However, resetting your tracker will wipe notifications saved earlier. There are different ways to reset your tracker depending on the models. Follow this instruction to reset your Fitbit Surge.
Fitbit Surge Reset Instruction
To restart your Fitbit Surge, push and hold the Select and Home buttons (bottom right and left) for 10 to 15 seconds on your Fitbit Surge, until the screen begins to dim or flashes. Now release the buttons. The screen will fully be turned off and then hold the Home button after 10 seconds to start turning your Surge on. This will allow your tracker to normally function and fix certain problems stated above. Try calling the Customer Support if resetting your tracker won’t solve the problems.
If you are looking a way to perform a factory restore on your Fitbit Surge to wipe all data and restore all settings to the original state, unfortunately it is not possible to do this. You won’t find how to factory reset the Surge on the manual or elsewhere, just a reboot of the device. There is only a Fitbit Surge Reset, the only Fitbit trackers that have a factory reset are the Charge and Charge HR. You may think this could be an issue if you want to resell or give away your Surge to someone else as you cannot wipe all your personal data on your tracker. But, keep in mind that all past days data have been sent to the Fitbit’s server and deleted from your device once you have synced your device.
The Surge will only keep your weight, height, gender, stride settings on it. When anyone who buys your tracker set it up to their account, they will overwrite these settings. Once you set the Surge up on a new Fitbit account, it will remove all previous data so the new user can have a fresh start. Also, Fitbit trackers will have its regular Fitbit Surge Reset at midnight that will wipe all activities data so you will always get your tracker fresh every day. Make sure the Surge you got from somebody else is shutdown when you sync with the Fitbit app to get their account deleted and get a fresh start.